Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Holly Golightly, if only we lived in the same world, and believe me I’d gladly transport myself to 1960, we would become the best of friends! Audrey Hepburn set my standards pretty high when it comes to dressing to go out – I mean this is a woman who dressed up in pearls, a luxurious Givenchy black dress, full gloves, and a tiara just for breakfast! And remember that amazing wide brimmed hat with the incredible ribbon she wears to “give the weather report” to her mobster friend Sally Tomato at Sing Sing?

I love Breakfast at Tiffany’s for a very simple reason – Audrey Hepburn and the way she lived her life. The fact is that Holly Golightly didn’t let others take control of her life – she lived it just as she pleased – tassel earplugs and all! (get yours here!) She tested social norms by not naming her cat, believing that it didn’t belong to her as a pet but that it had its own life to live and it wasn’t her place to get in the way of that. She wasn’t afraid to share her outspoken viewpoints with anyone.

She tested social norms in ever aspect, even her taste in furniture – she had a bathtub for a couch! (Want one too? Found on Etsy here!)

Moreover, she dressed the way she wanted  to and didn’t allow either event nor locations dictate her wardrobe. She knew what she loved and went for it. Just having that kind of courage is rare, no matter what era you live in. Just check out her pj’s: a tuxedo shirt, Tiffany blue eye mask with embroidered eyes (eyelashes and all! get yours here!), and don’t forget her signature tasseled earplugs. Speaking strictly fashion, I have to say that I first fell in love with the classic LBD and pearl combo when introduced to Breakfast at Tiffany’s by my HS best friend, Vicki, in our sophomore year. (Thank you!!!)

As the popular vote goes, my favorite outfit is definitely her debuting black dress with full length gloves, tortoise shell sunglasses, sparkling tiara, and of course the pearls upon pearls. Next up is her orange coat with the dark fur hat she wears out on the town with her friend “Fred” the gigolo, played by George Peppard. Weren’t they a pair? Her playing the part of Manhattan high society girlfriend to the top of citys’ men, him spending time with the friendliest of women in the city, swearing not to fall in love with anyone but only in it for the benefits of a wealthy life. And by the end of it all, (SPOILER ALERT!) they are embracing in a rainy alleyway sharing moments of a re-examined life and looking as if they have found true love. Aren’t their matching trench coats just adorable? And so timeless!

If I remember correctly, I do believe they crossed even when they weren’t supposed to – love her spirt of individualism! (Get coat here)

Now I’m not too sure about you, but I definitely let event details, locations, and social pressures get to me, and yes, I’ll admit, I allow them to dictate my choice of clothing. That’s not cool – I don’t want to keep living like that. Do you ever feel this way? I’m betting you do…I encourage you to watch Breakfast at Tiffany’s and become empowered by Holly to be the woman you are, and take control of your life in all ways. I’m taking a step forward to stop being controlled by the social acceptance of who to be and what to wear to specific events, locations, and what people expect you to be clothed in. I know what I like and I’m going to wear it, furthermore, I know who I am and I’m going to be the best possible version of myself, no one else. Won’t you join me in taking a stand? It’s important to me that I am able to live life to the fullest, so why not follow in a great woman’s footsteps – believe me, Audrey Hepburn’s just the kind of woman I want to be.

Sweet – Confident – Strong.

xo, Kate